Created by the General Assembly in 1999, the Capitol Square Preservation Council consists of thirteen individuals with expertise in art, architecture, landscape architecture, history, preservation, and administration. The Secretary of Administration, Clerk of the House of Delegates, and Clerk of the Senate serve as ex-officio members. This group is charged with planning and review of projects that affect the State Capitol, its historic artifacts, other historic buildings on or adjacent to Capitol Square, and the landscape and archaeological features of Capitol Square.
The Preservation Council's work is administered by an Executive Director. The Council is required to meet quarterly. In addition, its standing and ad-hoc committees meet as may be necessary.
Beginning April 2, 2015, the Virginia General Assembly will showcase a new exhibition in the gallery of the Capitol Extension, accessed by the public from the Bank Street entrance. Called Eye on the Capitol, this exhibit was developed in partnership with the Capitol Square Preservation Council, and will run for several months to support spring and fall fieldtrips as well as the summer tourist season.
Eye on the Capitol takes the visitor from the lead-up to the evacuation of the Capital City and its burning on April 2, 1865, to occupation by Federal troops and officials, and to the beginnings of recovery and rebuilding on new foundations. The Capitol and Square and environs are seen through the words of eye witnesses and the images of artists, map-makers and photographers of the day. Eye on the Capitol provides a visual and content-rich experience to teach about this defining period of our shared journey as a nation.
The quarterly Board Meeting of the Capitol Square Preservation Council will be held September 10 from 2:00 - 4:00 p.m. in House Room 2 of the Virginia State Capitol Building. Directions to the Virginia State Capitol can be found on the Virginia General Assembly Website.